You are here

Liability Programs

FDIP liability programs provide coverage in cases of third party claims resulting from operations or conditions caused by the negligent acts of program members while working in the scope of employment (fire department duties).

State Risk Management (SRM) liability programs apply to fire departments performing official duties inside of the State of Oklahoma up to the following limits:

  • $25,000 for property damage;
  • $125,000 for all other claims ($175,000 for population over 300,000); and
  • $1,000,000 for any number of claims arising out of a single occurrence or accident.

No deductible applies to any of the self-insured liability programs.

If you believe you require additional limits for out of state coverage, contact SRM for details.

Auto Liability Program

The Auto Liability Program provides coverage in the case of a third party claim related to the operation of a motor vehicle by a program member while working in the scope of employment (fire department duties).

(Note: The definition of an employee follows the GTCA and includes board members.)

General Liability Program

The General Liability Program provides coverage for all claims caused by the negligence of a program participant’s employee while working in the scope of employment (fire department duties) other than while operating a motor vehicle.

Note: General Liability as defined in the FDIP program includes coverage for Errors and Omissions (Directors and Officers Liability and Employment Practices Liability).

Combined Liability Coverage

This program provides coverage for liability claims.

Auto Liability Coverage: $50.00 per vehicle

General Liability Coverage: $26.00 per member

Combined Liability Coverage (Auto and General): $41.00 per member

Coverage Period: Aug. 1, 2019 to Jul. 31, 2020
Do not send payment until invoiced

 

Reporting Requirements for Liability Coverage

 

Auto Liability

Fire department personnel should immediately report any additions, or deletions to their scheduled list of vehicles.

Use the Liability Coverage - List Vehicles form to report any additions, changes, or deletions of vehicles. Please follow the instructions on the form and contact SRM if you have any questions.

(Note: Auto Liability coverage applies to fire department employees operating personal vehicles while on officially assigned fire department duties. It is not necessary to report personal vehicles to SRM for coverage.)

General Liability

For coverage to apply, report the names of all fire department members, including board members. You are required to report any changes, additions or deletions, to fire department members list immediately.

Use the Liability Coverage - List Team Members form to report any additions, changes or deletions of team members. Please follow the instructions on the form and contact SRM if you have any questions.

Combined Liability

Provide list of all fire department members including board members.

Limits of Liability

The Oklahoma Governmental Tort Claims Act provides liability limits.

Liability Requirements

Eligible organizations must complete an Eligibility Application to participate in FDIP. Coverage begins only when SRM approves the application.

  1. Applications for participation, pursuant to Title 74 O. S. § 85.58B et seq., are subject to review by the SRM administrator. The review may include a physical inspection of property, vehicles, and related records. (OAC 260:70 Risk Management Rules)
  2. Upon approval, SRM invoices the organization for the participation premium. Payment of premiums is due no later than 45 days from the receipt of invoices. Failure to submit timely payment constitutes cancellation of program participation.

Participants agree to fully cooperate with SRM in the investigation and resolution of any claim.

Note: INFLUENCE OF CONTROLLED DANGEROUS SUBSTANCES

SRM shall not be liable to make any payment for a loss in connection with any claim or claims made against the participant arising out of a vehicular incident in which the employee is found to have been driving under the influence of controlled dangerous substances as defined in Title 47 O.S. § 751, or if participant refuses to submit to a Breathalyzer test when requested to do so by a law enforcement officer.